Traditional Publishing

2016 Bristol Short Story Prize launched – Tuesday November 10, 2015

The 2016 Bristol Short Story Prize is open to all published and unpublished writers, UK and non-UK based, over 16 years of age.

Stories can be on any theme or subject and entry can be made online via the website or by post. Entries must be previously unpublished, with a maximum length of 4,000 words (There is no minimum). The entry fee is £8 per story, and the closing date for entries is April 30, 2016.


  • 1st £1000 
  • 2nd £700
  • 3rd £400 

17 further prizes of £100 will be presented to the writers whose stories appear on the shortlist. All 20 shortlisted writers will have their stories published in the Bristol Short
Story Prize Anthology Volume 9.

The 20 shortlisted writers will be invited to an awards ceremony in Bristol in October 2016 when the winners will be announced and the anthology launched.

Judging panel

Chair: celebrated writer Tania Hershman; acclaimed writer Niven Govinden; owner of award winning Big green Bookshop, Simon Key; and Juliet Pickering, literary agent at Blake Friedmann.

Full details and rules at

For the details of over 100 other writing contests, click here